Happy First Day Of Summer

We’re kickin’ off summer on the first week of April, which also happens to be the holy week. As usual, during holy weeks, my cousin’s family kind of have this tradition to go on a vacation, and they were kind enough to invite me and my other cousin to join them.

If last year me and my other cousin – Abby, rode on a public bus just to arrive at the destination, since the rest already got there ahead of us. This time, Joseph – my other cousin, the one whose family is going for a vacation – drove with us to our destination, Rockwalled Beach Resort, in Coro, Dalaguete. The same place where my grandfather celebrated his 80th birthday.

Now that I’ve thought of it, I actually don’t think I was excited on this trip unlike before and I also don’t think I’ve had enough fun. Although, I think that was because we had to cut our trip short plus we don’t get to have a lot of picture taking unlike before. Well, I guess that’s a sign that we’ve actually grown up and hated picture taking every time. LOL!

So, just like last year’s holy week escapade, everyday we went to different tourist spots, except for the first day of course.

Day 1 – Rockwalled Beach Resort, Dalaguete

Going to Dalaguete was a 2-3 hours drive and because we left home with an empty stomach, there’s this place in Argao where we got curious because a lot of people were driving on that direction, so we decided to drop by and we saw that on the circling part, there was this mini playground and somewhat like Papa Kits-like in there. The plus side, they’ve got treats that we loved, Kwek-Kwek or Tempura Balls for me and Balut for my other two cousins. I don’t feel like eating Balut coz I hate it, so, I just stick on eating Kwek Kwek.

After filling our stomachs, we went to the nearest gasoline station to find a mini mart where we bought our drinks and then we were back on the road.

Look at how much they've enjoyed Balut #16 with a chick inside

Look at how much they’ve enjoyed Balut #16 with a chick inside

When we finally got to our destination, we rested, had a little talk with the family who were already there ahead of us and went outside just in time to see the sun set. We had a delicious dinner that night, my favorite part was the shrimps, I ate a lot of it from the sea view balcony with a breath-taking view.

I could never in a hundred summers get tired of this.

I could never in a hundred summers get tired of this.

That same night, we went night swimming and had a little chitchat. We’re just sorry we haven’t took pictures while we were night swimming and for the second time, we failed to get inside that cave we’ve been dying to peek inside.

Day 2 – Sumilon Island

Good Friday and we were up early for some island getaway. The usual dilemma, coffee drinking got into my nerves when I woke up early and only found coffee on the table. Thankfully, they also brought Swiss Miss, which happens to be one of my favorite drink, as an alternative.

Sunrise by the beach at Rockwalled Beach Resort

Sunrise by the beach at Rockwalled Beach Resort

So, we drove to Oslob at Blue Waters headquarters to book for the earliest trip to the island. The earliest was 8:30 and if you want to book that trip, you must be in the area about 20 minutes before the trip. For day-tour guests, you can also pay there. We paid Php 2 500 each for the trip and that is already a package which includes: back and forth boat ride, open cottage, kayaking, trekking, lunch buffet, pool swimming, and snorkeling.

The resort really look out for the safety of their tourists, you can notice it first at hand on the boat ride to the island. They hand out life vests to each guests on the boat to make sure that their 10 minutes boat ride towards the island will be safe.

That little island is just a 10 minutes boat ride

That little island is just a 10 minutes boat ride

such a cozy waiting area for local and foreign tourists

such a cozy waiting area for local and foreign tourists

It was such a breath-taking sight while we were approaching the island. How much more when we already got off the boat. We docked at their Eastern Docking side and were welcomed by a very pleasant staffs. When everyone finally got off the boat, we had this little orientation on what-to-do and what-not-to-do or guidelines in the island, for our safety of course.

the safest boat ride I've ever been to. Loved their life vests!

the safest boat ride I’ve ever been to. Loved their life vests!

getting off the boat on their Eastern Dock

getting off the boat on their Eastern Dock

First thing we did when we got off the boat, after the orientation of course, we went to choose one of their open cottages and after that went kayaking and pedal boating on their lagoon.

the safest open cottage ever.

the safest open cottage ever.

the lagoon

the lagoon

They only had two kayak boats and there were 6 of us, so the last pair, which happened to be love birds, just went pedal boating. I always thought that kayaking was such an easy job. Now, I’ve learned to appreciate our dear fishermen. It’s never easy to row one’s boat how much more pedal one’s. It was such a muscle-cracking job, especially with me coz it was my first time to go kayaking. I almost had an accident and made an out-of-this-world split when I was about to transfer to a pedal boat from a docking area. The boat suddenly moved while I was about to get in thus the split. Thankfully, I wasn’t hurt.

the love birds rowing a pedal boat

the love birds rowing a pedal boat

the so called kayaking competition with my cousins and was halted coz the love birds got stuck

the so called kayaking competition with my cousins and was halted coz the love birds got stuck

We had to cut our kayaking short because we scheduled a 9AM trekking on the island and we just chose the medium course so that we can see the lighthouse or baluarte. To be able to go trekking, one must wear a running shoes or a thick enough slippers, so that you will not be hurt during the whole trek. In my case, I wasn’t able to bring one because I have no idea that we were going to Sumilon and I hurt my soles pretty badly, not to the extent of being injured. The rocks were rough and pointy that’s why they required everyone to abide by the rules.

At the starting point of the trek, we were each handed a walking stick, which we initially laughed at, but found it very much useful during the whole course.

Since, it was holy week, they put up Stations of the Cross and it so happens that each station we also do a stop, not to pray but to take pictures on the breath-taking view.

(First stop) with the whole gang in a wacky pose

(First stop) with the whole gang in a wacky pose

(First stop) just above the lagoon

(First stop) just above the lagoon

It was almost an hour-stretch trek and in case I’ve forgot, please do bring a liter of water, because its no easy job walking on a rough terrain. Though the view is very much refreshing.

(Second Stop) The Lighthouse

(Second Stop) The Lighthouse

(Second Stop) The Baluarte.

(Second Stop) The Baluarte.

You can actually get inside the baluarte. We did and took some pictures, not much of a sight really, there were just really big roots and dried leaves all over.

(Third Stop) The Sand Bar and Marine Sanctuary

(Third Stop) The Sand Bar and Marine Sanctuary

The sand bar is a public place and there were no cottages. This is were we snorkeled and forgive me if there were no photos during the event. Our adult companions were too tired to accompany us back here while we were snorkeling, thus, having no pictures.

Doing snorkeling, I learned to love the sea and what’s under it. I’ve seen different kinds of fishes, one that I can’t identify. I’ve even seen Nemo, the Clownfish. It’s funny because there were two clownfishes we’ve seen and they really didn’t leave their house, I guess they too were very protective of what is theirs. My two guy cousins saw a turtle, unluckily, we haven’t seen it because we were so caught up swimming and were too far from the group. When we eventually got tired, our guide was kind enough to drag us (me and my other cousin, Alexza) along while he was swimming.

Also while doing snorkeling, I got the biggest sunburn in my whole life. On the plus side, I didn’t have it on my face but on my arms, so I still have the sunblock to thank for.

(Fourth Stop) The Grotto

(Fourth Stop) The Grotto

I’ve heard that the island was formerly owned by nuns thus it explains why this grotto exists. Beside this is the Yamashita Cave, apologies coz I failed to took a photo. It wasn’t really a deep cave but it was creepy. When we took a peek on it, there were still remains of the horror stuff, probably from November’s halloween.

As soon as we’ve finished our trek, we were already eager to took a plunge on the beach and so we did. Since we already got our snorkel and life vest from the dive center when we did kayaking, so, we immediately put the snorkels on and dived on the beach just near our open cottage.

There were already fishes on that side of the beach. Though at first I struggled on how to breath through the mouthpiece, I was thankful I finally knew how after swallowing a lot of sea water. I even lost my hair tie during the whole struggle and almost lost my ring while savoring the view under the sea.

They served a very delicious lunch buffet with lots of dishes to choose from. Though some of them I didn’t know too well.

Our bellies were full. We had fun on the island. I definitely would want to come back. I didn’t regret endorsing this island on one of my multimedia projects way back in college.

Although, they had shower rooms and water’s good, we had to catch the 3:30 boat ride back to Oslob so we just washed off quickly and take our full shower back at Rockwalled.

That night at the resort where we stayed, I really felt tired and failed to join my cousins on our usual game called Monopoly. I was too tired and was having muscle pains so I just decided to sleep.

Day 3 – Tumalog Falls, Oslob and Bodo’s Bamboo Bar Resort and Restaurant, Alcoy

It was a really difficult task to wake up the next day because we were still exhausted from the previous day’s adventure at Sumilon Island. Funny thing was that, after having breakfast, we went back to our beds just to lie down kind of like a pig. Moments after, we ran out of drinks and there were a lot of house flies, so we (just me and my other three cousins) went to Prince Hypermarket near the Market Place and bought drinks and I also bought a hair tie for me.

It was after lunch that we’ve decided to go to Tumalog Falls at Oslob. Compared to the other falls we’ve been through, the road to Tumalog were both nice and scary. Nice because the road leading to the falls offers a very overlooking view. Scary because as soon as you’ve reached the entrance, which you have to pay Php 20, the roads were steep and it was a long walk. They also offer motorcycle rides for those who doesn’t enjoy the long walk going to the falls. The ride costs you Php 50 and that is already back and forth but if you happen to just have the ride going back you’ll only pay Php 30.

Bathing under the falls.

Bathing under the falls.

Tumalog Falls

Tumalog Falls

Compared to Kawasan Falls and Aguinid Falls, the drop of the water from Tumalog Falls didn’t really hurt that much when you bathe under the falls because the source of the water was high enough and its also just a waist-high water so you cannot really swim that much.

Since, it was our (me, Abby, Joseph and my other cousin – Joshua) last day of vacation and our adult companion have to send us off before dusk, we’ve decided to have our snacks-slash-dinner at Bodo’s Bamboo Bar Restaurant and Resort at Alcoy.

The place offers a very nice sea view though they don’t have beach and only have this little pool. I love their bamboo cottages and almost everything were made out of bamboo.

For my part, I ordered my favorite Spaghetti Carbonara with Parmesan Cheese and shared it with Abby because the serving was quite big enough for just one person. They also ordered this pizza which turned out to be quite big so we brought home the remaining slices.

The mountainous view behind the rooms

The mountainous view behind the rooms

With my cousins

With my cousins

Spaghetti Carbonara with Parmesan Cheese

Spaghetti Carbonara with Parmesan Cheese

Caught doing selfies on the breath-taking sea view

Caught doing selfies on the breath-taking sea view

We had a long drive goin’ home plus we had to keep looking out the car window for the moon to appear since it also happened to be a total lunar eclipse or blood moon at that time.

There are a lot more places in Cebu that I haven’t visited yet and I’m afraid I’m already running out of time before I can explore every bit of them. So choose Philippines, choose Cebu!

Shine Pilipinas shine! Ooops! I sounded like the latest ABS-CBN summer tune. 😉

More photos on my facebook account.

signature

One thought on “Happy First Day Of Summer

  1. Pingback: I have been nominated for a LIEBSTER AWARD! | Cebu Travel Junkie

Leave a Reply

